Tokyo here we; Tokyo City initially did not maintain a separate mayor or city council; instead, the governor of Tokyo Prefecture served as mayor of Tokyo, and each ward had its own assembly. Tokyo began electing its own mayor in 1898 but retained ward-level legislation, which continues to this day in the special ward system.




Tokyo - 2

Tokyo became the second-largest city in the world (population 4.9 million) upon absorbing several outlying districts in July 1932, giving the city a total of 35 wards.

Tokyo - 3


Tokyo - 4


Tokyo was originally known as Edo, meaning “estuary”. Its name was changed to Tokyo when it became the imperial capital in 1868, in line with the East Asian tradition of including the word capital in the name of the capital city.

Tokyo - 5
Tokyo - 6


Share This

About the author


Leave a Reply